Race of Russia
logo Race of Russia

Race of Russia - 05-07/06/2015

History was made in the WTCC round at Moscow Raceway last year, when Ma Qing Hua took his Citroën to victory in race two to become the first Chinese driver to win a race in an FIA world championship. In fact, all four Citroën works drivers made the podium, with championship leader José María López winning race one, and Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb claiming second and third-place finishes respectively. Russian WTCC driver Mikhail Kozlovskiy was a season-best fifth for LADA in round one of the series last year at Morocco, but sadly failed to score points on home soil.



1: Moscow Raceway, which opened in July 2012 to host a round of the World Series by Renault, is an FIA-approved track that is actually situated some 97 kilometres or 60 miles from the capital in the Volokolamsky District of Moscow Oblast.

2: Current Formula One ace Daniil Kvyat became the first Russian driver to win at the circuit – penned by F1 track designer Hermann Tilke – when he was victorious in both Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 races held there in 2012.

3: Yvan Muller and Michel Nykjær, both in Chevrolet Cruzes, won the first WTCC races at Moscow Raceway in June 2013.

4: In terms of land area, Russia is the world’s largest country and stretches across nine time zones.

5: Russia’s Volga River is the longest in Europe at around 3690km/2293m, and the country also has the world’s largest freshwater lake – Lake Baikal – with a depth of 5387ft/1642m. It contains around 20 per cent of the world’s unfrozen fresh water.

Official Website

Track information

Lap distance: 3931 m
Race distance: 2 x 16 laps

Track records

Qualifying: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m38.651s (143.45 kph), 07/06/2014
Race: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m40.148 (141.307 kph), 08/06/2014

2014 Results

Pole: José María López (Citroën) – 1m38.651s
Race 1: 1. J. Lopez (Citroën) – 2. G. Tarquini (Honda) – 3. S. Loeb (Citroën)
Race 2: 1. M. Hua (Citroën) – 2. Y. Muller (Citroën) – 3. M. Bennani (Citroën)